St. Xavier’s Colleges observe the Feast Day of St. Ignatius of Loyola


Patna: On Saturday, St. Xavier’s College and St. Xavier’s College of Management and Technology jointly celebrated the Feast Day of St. Ignatius of Loyola, mystic, preacher and founder of the Society of Jesus. His feast day is celebrated on July 31st every year. He is the foremost patron saint of the Society of Jesus.

The ceremony began with the lighting of the sacred lamp and garlanding of the portrait of the revered saint by the chief guest Father Prem Prakash, Vicar General, Archdioceses of Patna. Prayers were conducted by Agatha, Spardha and group. Students of the college presented the life sketch of St. Ignatius of Loyola through a dance-drama which was much appreciated. BBE students presented a group song.

While addressing the students, the chief guest said, “I wish to see a new heaven and new earth where everyone respects each other and there is justice and peace in the society. You have to change for yourself and build a better society.” He added that if you choose life you are alive; if you choose death you are dead. He also spoke about the contribution of the Jesuits in Bihar in bringing dignity to human lives.

Ad mayorem die glorium i.e., for the greater glory of God — motto of the Jesuits: valuing and nurturing this sentiment, some members of the Jesuit fraternity were felicitated for their tireless and selfless service to humanity.

Father Dr. Sushil Bilung SJ, Father Dr. Rajkumar SJ and Dr. Anurag Ambastha were felicitated for being awarded Ph.D degrees recently. Guest of Honour Nutan Chaudhary, Team Leader of Cambridge English Language Assessment handed certificates to students for their performance in extracurricular activities.

Also present on the occasion were Rector Father Joseph Thadavanal SJ, Principal Father Dr. T. Nishaant SJ, Vice Principal Father Martin Poras SJ, Controller of Examination Father Dr. Raymond Cherubim SJ, Treasurer Brother Tony Dais and Administrator Father Paul Varika together with the college staff.

BCA 2nd year student Sanchit and BBA 2nd Year student Megha Tanya anchored the programme. BBE 2nd year student Anju proposed the vote of thanks.